Living Loved

Standard

“Good morning! Thank you so much. I hope you have a wonderful week too! Let’s live loved this week, my friend.”

That was the response that I sent to a friend of mine after she told me to have a great week. So, what exactly is this idea of living loved? At the beginning of the year I joined a women’s book study at church with the hopes of meeting new women and diving a little deeper into my faith. We’ve been reading Uninvited: Living Loved When You Feel Less Than, Left Out, and Lonely by Lysa TerKeurst who describes the concept of living loved as giving the best of who you are by reinforcing the best of what’s been said to you.

I did not live loved today, not even close. From the minute, I stepped foot into my office to the minute I left, I was not a happy camper. Working for a university can be tough. Working anywhere can be tough. Spoiler alert, I don’t have a poker face. It’s very noticeable when I’m happy, sad, or just ticked off. It’s all in the eyes. And today my eyes said a lot more than my mouth did.

Because where I work is very customer service based, I always tell my student workers not to come in if they’re in a bad mood. I’d rather have no one at all than someone with a bad attitude. Today I was the person with the bad attitude; however, that rule doesn’t apply to me. So, when it was time for me to leave work and go volunteer at my church, I considered not going. They too would rather have no one volunteer than a grumpy volunteer. For some reason, I decided to go anyway (probably because I hate backing out of my commitments).

I volunteer at my church’s Mission. It’s a place where people can go to get a hot meal, to do their laundry, to sleep when it’s cold, or to just hang out. The patrons there are a variety of people, young and old, from different backgrounds and with a lot of different circumstances. And they’re some of the best examples of what it truly means to live loved. They’re great to be around. They’re kind, helpful, and make the best out of what life throws at them. I could learn a thing or two by taking a page from their book.

 

 

Leave a Reply

