Year of Yes

Standard

There are many words and phrases that I use way too often like it’s okay, I’m sorry, and I love you. The one word that I probably use the most though is yes. Three little letters that are incredibly powerful.

At the end of 2016 I decided to read Shonda Rhime’s book The Year of Yes. Just like her Thursday night television series, this book was a page turner that I could not put down. The changes and transformations that occurred in her life, inspired me to make changes in my own. I created a list of things that I wanted to say yes to during 2017. It includes the following:

  1. Yes to taking risks
  2. Yes to being fit
  3. Yes to following Jesus
  4. Yes to saying no
  5. Yes to accepting compliments
  6. Yes to self-love
  7. Yes to creating healthy relationships
  8. Yes to asking for help
  9. Yes to saying thank you
  10. Yes to practicing patience

So far, I’m doing alright. I’ve been taking risks in my professional life, creating healthy relationships with co-workers and ladies from church, getting back into the habit of working out regularly, and saying thank you more. I could spend a little more time on numbers 5 and 8 though. But the truth is, I’m pretty much a Yes Wo(man), which is why number 4 is such a challenge for me.

I say yes to everything. I take on additional commitments at work and church and volunteer to help people with favors. I’ve said yes to three commitments already this week and its only Tuesday. The time that I put towards saying yes to others and the things that they ask of me, takes away from me saying yes in other areas of my life.

I used to respond to people by asking if I could pray about their request before answering, but somewhere along the way I got out of the habit of doing that. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoy doing all the things that people ask of me. I just don’t enjoy the additional stress that some of these things cause.

I need to start saying no.

Leave a Reply

