Satisfy Your Cravings

Standard

Do you ever have a craving for something, but don’t know what? Better yet, do you ever have a craving, eat what you were craving and then realize that it wasn’t satisfying? That happens to me a lot. Most of the time it happens when I’m craving something sweet; I decide to eat something chocolate because it looks good, but then I remember how much I dislike chocolate. It also happened just now.

For the physical cleanse that I’m doing with my aunt, I receive weekly motivational emails that include healthy recipes for participants to try. I can’t eat a lot of the recipes because they involve some type of meat, usually chicken or fish. However, I managed to stumble upon a recipe for Cauliflower Alfredo with Kale and Sun-dried Tomatoes. Sounds delicious, right? I thought so too until I made it.

I’m not the world’s best cook, but I can manage. Cooking is one of the few things that relaxes me. So, I decided earlier this week that I would give this dish a shot. I’ve been looking forward to it all day. I tasted it and it’s incredibly bland. I usually don’t season my food too often, but I even threw in a few extra dashes of salt and pepper. That didn’t help at all. Will I eat it? Yes, but my taste buds aren’t pleased.

This dish wasn’t a complete disappointment though. My craving for a good gluten free vegan Alfredo wasn’t satisfied; however, my craving for something greater was. I was in need for some “me time” and a little relaxation and that’s exactly what I got.

In case you were wondering, here’s the recipe:

Cauliflower Alfredo with Kale & Sun-dried Tomatoes

1/2 head cauliflower, about 2 cups

1 cup white beans (drained and rinsed if using canned)

1-1 1/4 cup almond milk

3 Tbsp. olive oil

1 large shallot

salt & pepper to taste

1 cup kale

1/8 cup sun-dried tomatoes, packed in oil

dash nutmeg

cooked brown rice pasta

Cut the cauliflower into large florets and add them to a pot of boiling water. Cook until soft, 15-20 minutes, then drain.

While the cauliflower is cooking, heat 1 tablespoon of olive oil in a pan and sauté the shallots until softened and lightly browned.

Place the cooked cauliflower in a blender along with the white beans, almond milk, sautéed shallots, the remaining 2 tablespoons of oil and a dash of nutmeg. Season to taste with sea salt and pepper.

Pour enough sauce needed to coat the cooked pasta and mix. Fold in the sun-dried tomatoes and kale and heat through.

Leave a Reply

