You Can’t Pour from An Empty Cup

Standard

I’ve been working on this concept for quite some time now and I still don’t have it all figured out. I think this idea of not being able to pour from an empty cup can mean two things. The first, take care of yourself and prioritize self-care. The second, just like it’s important to pour into others, it’s also important that others pour into us too.

Today started off rough, I overslept. Personally, I blame the weather and the fact that someone dubbed today as National Napping Day. I didn’t just sleep in fifteen or twenty minutes though, I’m talking ninety minutes. That’s right, an hour and a half. I was sleeping so good and didn’t want to be bothered so I turned off my 5am alarm and set another one for 6am. I continued to snooze that alarm three or four times before finally deciding to roll out of bed at 6:30am. Guess what? I still made it to work fifteen minutes early. Instead I missed out on my morning workout, Bible scripture, and morning devotional. No big deal, right? Wrong! These things set the tone for my day and with today being Monday, they were going to set the tone for my week at work.

I have this friend; we’ve known each other since our freshman year of high school and have managed to keep in touch throughout our college years. She’s one of my best friends. Anyway, she decided to get back in shape during 2017 and signed up to run her first half marathon (it’s in a few weeks). Because I needed some motivation myself, I decided to start sending her a motivating quote, Pin, or workout video every Monday to keep us both focused. Motivating someone else can be a daunting task, especially on days when you’re not motivated either. In my women’s group at church yesterday we discussed the importance of relationships and how necessary they are. Relationships are about pouring into others and then when you’re not strong enough, having those others pour back into you. That’s what my friend did this morning! She poured into me. She sent me a Pin that said, “On your good days, run hard. On your bad days, run as long as you need.” Little does she know, that one Pin changed my whole day.

I used to come home from work mentally exhausted. I’ll let you in on a little secret, working with students eight hours a day is draining. When I got home all I wanted to do was take a bubble bath and go to bed. I had no leftover energy for myself. Towards the end of January, one of my Facebook friends posted the following:

preview

It was refreshing to read because I started noticing myself becoming uninspired, not just tired. At the beginning of February, I started reminding myself of my goals for the new year. Things like read my Bible daily, lose 30 pounds, read one book each month, write for 30 minutes each day, save loose change, be a vegan, complete Year of Yes.

Today was another gentle reminder. The day didn’t start how I wanted, but it ended like I planned. I left work on time and came home to work on my own goals. I was able to squeeze in a thirty-minute workout (courtesy of the amazing Anna Renderer and POPSUGAR Fitness, check out their YouTube videos), completed my practice for my Minfulness Based Stress Reduction class, read two chapters of The Pilgrimage, had a healthy vegan tofu stir-fry prepared by yours truly, and managed to find a few extra minutes to reflect. Today was a great day!

emptycup

“Though no one can go back and make a brand new start, anyone can start from now and make a brand new ending.” – Carl Bard

Leave a Reply

