We’ve Got to Get God Out of Heaven and Into Our Minds

Standard

I’m a creature of habit. When I create a routine, I stick to it. These last few days were difficult though. Not being in my own home made it challenging to follow my routine. I didn’t exercise like I wanted. I slept in more than I should have. And I didn’t pray.

A few weeks ago I wrote a little prayer that I say each morning before work. I taped it to my bathroom mirror so that I can recite it while I’m getting ready. At this point I have it pretty much memorized; however, I haven’t recited it since Thursday morning (the day I left to visit my family). You’re probably thinking, “Well maybe she didn’t have it memorized like she thought.” No, I do. I also have it saved as a Memo in my phone, but not once did I think to look at it.

Lord, give me fullness and align my heart with Yours. Give me ears and eyes to hear and see the things that You want. Allow me to persevere on the path that You have marked out especially for me. And allow me to abide, delight, and dwell in You so that I may receive the desires of Your heart. In Jesus’s name, Amen.

Praying consistently is something that I struggle with. I do really well for a few weeks and then I don’t. I’ve tried praying in the morning before work, but sometimes it feels rushed. I’ve tried praying before bed, but often times I fall asleep. I’ve even tried praying while I walk home from work, but I now use that time to talk to my family (I felt like I wasn’t communicating with them enough). I just don’t have a specific time carved out in my day to pray; I don’t think most people do, but they manage to make the time. I have to sit down and make time.

I recently accepted an invitation to a lead a prayer during our National Day of Prayer service on May 4th. I’ll be praying for the next generation and their families. I’m worried, not only because it’s going to be a room full of people, but because it also has to be three minutes. That’s a long time. I don’t think I’ve ever prayed for that long (I talk really fast) and if I have it’s because I dozed off or lost my train of thought. So why did I accept this invitation to pray at NDP? Well, it’ll be a great challenge for me and allow me to overcome my slight fear of public speaking. Plus it’s a great risk for my Year of Yes.

Fortunately for me, we’ve started this new sermon series at church titled “Feeling Stronger Every Day”. For the season of Lent, we’re discussing as a church how to pray. Our pastor has adopted this new concept called A.C.T.S.S. which stands for adoration, confession, thanksgiving, supplication, and silence. Each week we’re focusing on one of the five words and diving a little deeper into their meaning. Today we discussed thanksgiving and what it means to be thankful. This morning he asked us, “If we had today only what we were thankful for yesterday, what would we have left?” Because I didn’t pray yesterday, I wouldn’t have much.

My goal for this week is to set aside time to pray. Consistently. It might not be the same time each day, but it will happen each day. And I’ll follow the A.C.T.S.S. concept, or at least A.C.T.

Leave a Reply

