Exploring the Idea of Intermittent Fasting

Standard

A few years ago when I embarked on my journey to eat healthier, I promised myself that I would never starve myself or do insane diets. If I’m hungry then I will eat. Notice I said, if I’m hungry. That’s the problem, I eat all the time. Constantly. Especially when I’m stressed, which is every day (hence the MBSR class).

We all do some form of intermittent fasting (IF) without even realizing it. For the past few weeks I’ve been doing a 12/12 fast, fasting for twelve hours and eating for twelve hours. In simple terms, I start eating at 8am and stop eating at 8pm.

My boyfriend formerly introduced the idea of IF to me a few days ago. When one of us has a new idea, the other one usually jumps on board. We’re both runners now and although he’s not officially a vegan, he can choose to go without meat or dairy for a few days at a time. So I decided to give this IF thing a try! At least for this week. He started doing it about a week ago because he tends to eat when he’s bored or awake and thought limiting his feeding window would help him eat less. Because he’s a night owl his feeding window is from 3pm to 11pm.

I am not a night owl, not at all. And because I work from 8am to 5pm, I need to eat at least one meal during the day or I’ll get hangry. I’ve decided to make my feeding window from 12pm to 8pm. Surprisingly, I wasn’t hungry this morning like I normally am and I didn’t really have the desire to eat anything before noon. My stomach only growled once or twice. For my first meal I had a sandwich with almond butter, a Granny Smith apple, carrots and broccoli with hummus, and raisins. For dinner I had one of my protein shakes that I usually have for breakfast, packed with plant-based protein, fiber, greens, and fruit.

I’ve never been a fan of counting calories or tracking what I eat, that’s too much work. It’s like a full-time job. IF is a great way for me to get the most out of my meals without all of the extra work. I think blogger James Clear described it best when he said, “IF doesn’t change what you eat, it changes when you eat.” Check out his blog post for IF beginners: The Beginner’s Guide to Intermittent Fasting.

We’ll see how things go. I’m still exploring and doing a bit of research.

Leave a Reply

