Lamentations 3:24-26

Standard

I say to myself, “The Lord is my portion; therefore I will wait for Him.” The Lord is good to those whose hope is in Him, to the one who seeks Him; it is good to wait quietly for the salvation of the Lord.” (Lamentations 3:24-26)

I enjoy my job, I really do. There are days though when working with college students can be mentally and emotionally draining. Today was one of those days and I couldn’t muster the energy to put on a smile and pretend that everything was okay. There was no faking it today.

A lot of people assume that higher education is just a pit stop on my list before I start my career. Besides my colleagues and supervisors, I don’t think very many people are expecting me to hang around for very long. Again, I like my job. I’m just not sure if it’s forever. After a long day of work I don’t always feel fulfilled when I go home.

For a few months now I’ve been dabbling with the idea of graduate school. I’ve been dipping my toe in the water, but have yet to dive in. Why not? There’s a number of reasons – finances, the limited degree programs, and I’m afraid that I’ll earn another degree that I won’t use.

I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. I know what I don’t like – salesmanship, marketing, any of the medical professions (I couldn’t handle knowing that a person died while in my care), politics, and chemical engineering. I also know what I do like – food, running, and helping people. I’m just not sure of how these things translate into a career. Life coach? Registered dietitian? Wellness educator?

During my lunch break today I decided to ask one of our faculty members for advice. She’s a straight no chaser kind of woman. Tells it like it is. She also knew in the first grade that she wanted to be a teacher of teachers (professor) and study cowboys (history of the American West), show off. Together we found a reputable university, conveniently her college institution, that has an online Health and Wellness bachelor’s and master’s program. Because it’s out-of-state, it’s also well out of my price range. She also mentioned me to one of her physician friends who suggested that I contact a dietitian at the local hospital. I’ll be looking into the both of these things sometime this week to gain a better understanding of the opportunities available.

Every now and then I have friends text me questions about what they should be eating or advice on running plans and preventing injuries. I don’t always have the answers or feel like I’m the most qualified person to answer, but I do the best I can. Maybe this is like a practice round for the plan that God has for me. The plans that He has for me will keep me from stepping into plans that aren’t meant for me. Like Lysa says in chapter 11 of Uninvited, “I want to live in expectation of God’s invitation.”

 

Leave a Reply

